Pulling for 30 years

Hi i have been pulling my pubic hair out for 30 years now. As a result a lot of regrowth is under the skin which then means I'm using tweezers or a pin to dig them out which has caused scarring. I also pull my leg hair out which results in the same problems as mentioned above. I pull from these areas every day. To a lesser degree i pull my under arm hair out.
I have very complex mental health problems and been in and out of therapy and on medication for years but because i pull pubic hair im too embarrassed to mention it. Does anyone else pull pubic hair out and/or pulling elsewhere for a long?

Comments

• Hi Lucy,

Firstly welcome & whilst I completely get the embarrassment, you really shouldn't be. You're definitely in the right place here.
    I've been pulling my eyelashes for 26 years, so iconetely understand the feeling of having had this condition for such a long time. You can get help and support through this page, coaching.care, and through the forum as well- we're all in the same boat.
    Hopefully we'll hear from you again soon.
    Take care, lots of love being sent xx

• Hi Lucy, I pull from the same areas as you. It is difficult to talk about, especially the pubic area! But it's not unusual - just rarely spoken of.

I only pull with tweezers, so I threw them away. It wasn't easy, and my eyebrows became interesting for a while, but gradually the trigger zones stopped triggering because I wasn't pulling anymore. My habits changed. These days I can have tweezers and I find using an epilator extremely cathartic! There are still some ingrown hairs, but nothing like the mess I had going on before from pulling and digging them out.

I treat myself now to a fancy salt scrub in the bath, followed by an evening of epilating and it seems to hit the mark for me without causing any damage or getting me trapped in the zombie pulling zone :)