Thinking of Shaving my hair off completely

I am so happy to have found this forum. I am truly desperate. I have been pulling my hair for 15 years. During this time, I only once managed to go into complete remission, between years 2015 and 2018. Unfortunately, by the end of 2018, various stressors in my life pushed back into old habits, I lost control and relapsed, and it was bad. In order to save my remaining hair and to be able to function day to day, I installed an interlace hair system which was in place for 6 months. It cut off my access to my affected areas and I really did not have a desire to pull from anywhere else. So the hair grew back and I thought I had got a handle of it again. When I removed the system, there was huge contrast between the regrown hair and my existing ones in terms of texture and colour. They all felt wrong, nonetheless, I managed to control myself, more or less. But it didn't take me long. I had a nice hair cut in January this year, after that all went back to square one. Now I have pulled again from all previously affected areas. I just cannot stop. I want to save my hair but I don't want to put that system on again. I am thinking of shaving it all off. Any ideas/suggestions?

Comments

• Hi ND, welcome to the forum. I know you're feeling desperate but remember: you did do this before. You can do this again. If you shave your hair off the likelihood is that you'll start pulling again when it starts to re-grow. It won't fix things long term.

Set yourself a small, achievable goal. Maybe it's just to get through the next 10 minutes, maybe it's an hour. When you manage it, reward yourself. Set another, slightly longer, goal. Reward yourself. Don't worry about the odd hair you've pulled, only think of the hairs you've saved.