New to the group

Hi, I've been pulling my hair for over 10 years now since I was about 12. I had therapy when I was a teenager but didn't respond well to this at all. Over the years I've always done it but it's been in waves as to how bad it is, I managed to not pull much before.my wedding last year but ever since then it's been getting worse and worse and now my hair is at one of it's worse points ever, I have massive bald patches covering the back of my head and one of the front sides. This is usually hideable by wearing my hair certain ways but it's even beginning to show through those now. I've never managed to identify triggers, sometimes it's because of stressful moments, something's it's just because... For no reason... I'm at my wit's end and it is massively affecting my self esteem and self image. I used to pull my eyelashes and eyebrows too and managed to stop for the most part, partly I think because the regrowth is a lot quicker so it doesn't take as long stopping to see how nice they can be without pulling.
Any advice would be so truly welcome as I am hating the way my hair looks right now.
Tagged:

Comments

• Hello there! I'm new to the group as well. I'm 50 years old and have been a Puller for about 37 years 😬 I wish I could say I have all the answers by now, but I do not.
    The only success I've had so far is to stop pulling my head hair while driving in the car. But home pulling remains a struggle for me every day. I used to think it was monthly, and coincided with when I should be having my period (I'm post hysterectomy, so I don't actually have a period anymore, but I still feel the monthly 'low energy & crabbiness'.)
    Lately I've been pulling NON-STOP, every chance I get. It seems so satisfying. The feel of each particular hair shaft feels like I've got the "right one" and it feels good to pull it out.