Newbie looking for support.

Hello all

I am a newbie here and this is my first time actually looking for help/support with my problem.

I’ve been a hair puller for years, I show all the characteristics for the disorder. Finding the perfect hair (rough, textured, grey!) hiding what I do, not even realising I’m doing it.

I’ve never seen a doctor or therapist and when I think about my character I also think I suffer with other issues such as anxiety and OCPD (the need to be organised and have everything perfect and planned etc)

What’s brought me to finding this forum is I am a parent to two lovely girls, I’m 33 and the bald patch from my pulling is so noticeable now. I have long hair and I can only style it by having a high ponytail. I’d love to cut my hair but I’d never go to a hairdresser.

My eldest (5) I even noticed twirls her hair and I cannot recal when I first started. My husband said I’ve alwasy done it and we have been together 16 years.

I think it’s finally time I got some support. I don’t want my daughters seeing what I do and having to explain. I also want to be able to relax and not worry about making everything tidy and perfect, worrying about what we are doing next. I want to live life for the moment.

Where do I start??

C x

Comments

• Hi c1403. Welcome to the forum and well done on coming on here and chatting. I'm 35 and I started pulling (at my eyelashes) at the age of 11. I started therapy, through this page, a year ago. For the first time in 25 years, I have nearly a full set of lashes.