Willpower is a muscle

Hello,

I am new to the coaching journey. I thought that the start would be easiest bit, as I am full of enthusiasm and energy and want to make a positive start. But there's just not the traction that I was expecting.

It's a long process so I'm not worried about it. However, I'd like to know if anyone else found this?

Thank you and I'm so happy to be here.

Comments

• Hi and welcome :) Yeah I understand what you mean. It’s definitely a marathon rather than a sprint, and I think it’s all about the journey. Love the title - the more we flex our willpower muscle, the stronger it gets. Good luck on your journey! Xx
  • Hi there. Yes, absolutely get what you’re both saying & I agree, it’s a great way to look at it. Enjoy your journeys 😉
  • Hi Carezza,

How are you feeling now?

I think its ok to be a little overwhelmed at the start of coaching, especially as new ideas are introduced to you and you have to mull over concepts and apply them to your feelings. You have to get used to communication with your coach too! Maybe you were used to living in your head and now you have a person you can actually share those thoughts with.

Besides, think of starting a new exercise, you are bound to be sore or overwhelmed at the beginning! I just joined a new gym and am still learning my routine for getting ready to swim, and the best times of day for me to swim. And I haven't swum in forever so I start by warming up my shoulders and my poor tight right tricep which just hates being stretched. As I swim it hurts but I try to be gentle with it and stretch carefully and stop before I hurt myself. I know it will stretch out in a weeks time and it's starting to feel better already and after that my body will be used to being back in the pool.

Congrats for starting coaching, you are making a big commitment to yourself so take it a day at a time and breathe through those frustrating thoughts and moments.

Let us know how you're doing!
    Annie

• Hi Annie