I need support

Hello, it's my first time here. My name is Kat, and I'm 14 years old and I keep pulling from the sides of my head. My hair looks so thin now and I've tried telling people but they just laugh and say "just stop then, it's your own fault". I wish I could just stop and I really am trying. My hair is naturally curly and it started with me pulling coarse bits of hair but it's just escalated. I really need support, can anyone help please?

Comments

• Hi Kat,

Welcome to the forums, and we’ll done for coming on, it’s a big step- and you did it!!😉
    My name’s Lisa, I’ll be 36 next month and have been in therapy through this page, “coaching.care” a little over a year now. I’m an eyelash puller, & when I first joined coaching, I was wearing false lashes as I had barely any. All the new prickly hairs, I’d find by running my finger along my lash line & pulling them. Just talking about it makes me crave that feeling again, I won’t lie. However, my longest PF stint was 70 odd days last year, then 61 this summer and I’m currently on day 65, so even though talking about it, I think “ooh yeah,” there’s a stronger part of me that’s saying, “no Lisa, you don’t do that anymore and you don’t need to do it either. 🙌

There great support on here, and I’ve been given lots of useful tools to use, fidget spinners (or something to keep in your hands) talking softly and kindly to myself, learning to love me and reassuring myself, “it’s ok.” The biggest one for me, is learning, it’s ok if I pull. I’m still me, I’m still allowed to love and like myself and that I’m allowed to be loved by others.

I hope this helps a little, and you too can find the support you’re looking for. I started a thread about how you’re feeling. Please feel free to write on it if you can. I pop a note on daily, I find that helps me too.

Take care, keep in touch.
    Lisa xx